But of course!

Sundry and Miscellaneous

Letter to Taz June 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — vicunasuz @ 9:57 am
Tags: ,

As you know, I have a huge aversion to Meijer’s, despite your attempts to sway me. I needed some Food Saver bags and grocery stuff and couldn’t see driving to Walmart to save a buck or two, so I went to Meijer’s. Meijer’s had everything I wanted, but I hate and despise their self checkout.

You pretty much have to check yourself out unless you want to wait an hour in line at the ONE register that is open. Every single time…wait, let me say that as intended…EVERY SINGLE TIME I use Meijer’s self checkout something goes wrong and I have to wait while their little red light flashes and the person resets it. Today, I apparently moved a bag too soon, placing it into my shopping cart and the machine acted like I was a criminal getting ready to make a run for it. The machine yelled for the attendant THREE TIMES while I was trying to purchase my measly nine items.

  • I removed a bag to soon
  • It didn’t like when I put an onion in the shopping bag
  • It refused to ring up salt pork (can’t blame it, really, but a recipe calls for it)

    Boo, Meijer's! Hatechu!

I never have this kind of self checkout trouble in any other store. Well, there was the potential riot incident at Kroger’s that I caused, but that was quickly averted and I learned the self checkout culture of that particular neighborhood. The police haven’t had to be called since.

 

2 Responses to “Letter to Taz”

  1. Taz Says:

    Ah, my cherie, you must know the rules of self check out or you will be dong!!

    1. You don’t remove the bag until you have completely finished.
    2. When you place in item in the bag, the machine must feel the weight which is why I usually push my hand against the bottom of the bag.
    3. Using the look up keys will eliminate any problems with unreadable items.

    Patience is a virtue-weedhopper.

  2. vicunasuz Says:

    Ahem…
    1. But I had four bags- no room to let them sit there. Yes, I know I only had 9 items and four bags may seem excessive (don’t judge me!) but I like to keep my chilled items separate from non, and cans from produce and all of the grocery from non-grocery, therefore, I require many pieces of flimsy plastic to put them in.
    2. I do not want to stop my scanning & packing in order to reach over and down to put a faux weight in the bag to make the machine happy
    3. The items should already be in the Meijer’s system correctly so I, the customer in a hurry, can scan and leave without standing there fuming and using socially unacceptable language under my breath (or not so under my breath)

    i remain anti-Meijers, despite their extremely impressive entire aisle of Mexican/Hispanic food in my neighborhood and the fact that they carry Cabot cheese. Damn them and their attempts at enticing me into their purgatory!


Comments are closed.